Why Do I Feel Like I’m Living the Choruses of Meatloaf’s Songs?

And now, it’s much too late to learn how to cook…       

you are

     Every generation has a musical pulse, a beat that captures the mood, the beat of its generation–especially in matters of love and all its characteristics. Music gives me almost daily heart transplants as it seems I rarely meet a piece of music that I can’t figure out how to like. I thrive as I feed on the feast of notes circling about me. I savor snippets of inspiration to explain my life in lyrical often beat-inspired handwritten gasps.

Poetry needs to stand on its own musicality from words that carry a click or a clang or a whisper. Sometimes musical references creep into the poem, a concrete hint of its roots.  Sometimes, like today, Meatloaf is singing my life to me and I feel like I’m trapped living in the chorus of his songs.  Adagio is the musical word I want to use as he belts out songs.

And in the poets of Twitterdom, I find tweeters who pen their posts in every conceivable spin from formal to free to all points in between–their poetry in short often un-arranged, unedited bursts. Sometimes a relay ensues – one poet passes off a phrase to another – a banter begins. Recently, Steve @dreamersteve_99 wrote:

The song tasted the bitter and sweet notes of her…playing the subtle parts very lightly..where her truer lover lives. #museinlove #poems

Steve often uses the hashtag #museinlove.   Be sure to look for his work and follow him if you are a #museinlove or need a #museinlove or if you’re just looking for one of the prolific poets of Twitter.  When I retweeted Steve’s post,  I didn’t have time to write a poem back. Working on some images for a collage today required me to write a piece to go with the collage and Steve’s post (with a little help from Meatloaf) inspired the following five lines:

He—the bitter-sweet notes

Lingering on her lips—

An interval savored–

the pause—ethereal pitch—

In adagio, always adagio.

Thanks to Steve, my draft was easier to incorporate the word “adagio” that I have wanted to use for a while.   I’ll be sharing many favorite words, many poets from Twitter as well as other inspirations from the words of others.  The world vibrates with song in verse, with song in prose, with song in song.

As I work on my daily creative brews,  I find nourishment in the creative mix.  And thanks to Meatloaf I won’t be sad– because one good draft out of three ain’t bad.

Now if I could just get my love life in order…

…..but I guess I just won’t do that.

Writing Tip – Pick a Twitter poet to respond to or use a song lyric as a beginning. Look down the list I follow in Twitter if you need some ideas.  Or search #poet #poetry as a broader start.  If you need more visual stimulation, use the collage, “you are,” to get you started.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Taylor Collins

Taylor writes in fragments - journals incessantly – the sea a recurring theme. She blogs and works on three writing projects at the moment. She was selected to read a twitter poem, written during National Poetry month, for the “Tell Me More” NPR program in 2011. A day diary was selected for publication in Water Cooler Diaries published in 2008 (De Capo Press). She recently completed a small chapbook, a 12-part poem entitled Flame. Taylor receives “real” rejection letters now – a sure sign her work is being read. She paints and writes in her studio/gallery -- Parke Green Galleries located on the site where the US Constitution was first ratified. She spends time thinking when deep thoughts surface. Taylor leads a rather dry life on the ocean she's tossed about on. Be sure to visit her if you're ever in the state that started our nation. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,315 other followers

