Found – I Am a Free Lover

Collage I Am A Free Lover

Collage I Am A Free Lover

Poetry – perhaps more so than other records – reminds us that the struggles of humanity are often profound.  As I searched a woman to highlight for Women’s History Month, Victoria Woodhull’s name popped into view. Why she isn’t better known is a mystery to me as she was, among many other things, the first woman to run for President of the United States. No, in case you are thinking as I was, it was not Hillary.

One speech she gave caught my attention because of the freshness of the content. The speech was given over 150 years ago and yet it spoke of truths needed today. I have watched with dismay as several states have passed draconian laws against women regarding birth control and the right to decide what is best for their lives in the area of child-bearing.

I became a feminist because of the Delaware laws in effect back in the seventies  a husband needed to approve various procedures.  As a woman, the state felt I could not make my own decisions.  Poetry did not come to mind decades ago. But now, reading Victoria’s speech, everything about women’s rights became focused. This struggle isn’t over. It is up to each of us to remain viligent.

I found the poem in her speech. I visualized her reading it and the poem evolved from the impact of that image which I included in my collage. I close the poem with the following:

” sister, I, too, am a free lover.

I take your mantel lest I forget

they will try yet again and again and again

and again and again to interfere..

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Taylor Collins

Taylor writes in fragments - journals incessantly – the sea a recurring theme. She blogs and works on three writing projects at the moment. She was selected to read a twitter poem, written during National Poetry month, for the “Tell Me More” NPR program in 2011. A day diary was selected for publication in Water Cooler Diaries published in 2008 (De Capo Press). She recently completed a small chapbook, a 12-part poem entitled Flame. Taylor receives “real” rejection letters now – a sure sign her work is being read. She paints and writes in her studio/gallery -- Parke Green Galleries located on the site where the US Constitution was first ratified. She spends time thinking when deep thoughts surface. Taylor leads a rather dry life on the ocean she's tossed about on. Be sure to visit her if you're ever in the state that started our nation. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

